top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJamie Nicholl

THE MAN I FOUND



Let me tell you about the man I found. We have an endless amount in common. Historic literature, fine art and the obvious of course.


I encountered him at the immaculate hotel bar on Sunday. The flaming neon lights encircling the bar highlighted his conspicuous attractiveness. We spot each other at opposite ends, like two acquaintances who had misplaced each other years prior.


Why is this faultless man even glancing in my general direction, I think to myself? A few seconds of perplexation pass and then it hits me like a final frenzied scratch – this is not our primitive rendezvous. This blazing man is not foreign to me. And I am not foreign to him. We are two acquaintances who had misplaced each other.


He was spotted crouching surreptitiously under a depleted, inadequate oak tree a month previous.


He was acting cautious that night in the bar, as he should, given who he is. I guess he needed the 'confirmation glance’ which I then provided.


When we set eyes on each other that Sunday I knew it was real. It wasn’t a coincidence that they talk about in them misguided Hollywood films – it was love. His every twitch and stutter intrigued me more. This isn’t an unbalanced sensation where one side is troubled and fixated with their counterpart, no, this was equilibrium.


We conversed for hours on end and reached the conclusion that we had to stay together. The ‘spark’ that you hear so often discussed in the inaugurate stages of relationships was present. It was blinding.


We made love that night. He provided me with a sense of euphoria that could never be achieved with a woman.


After the sex, we vowed to never return to our wives and children and we would pursue our ambition together.


We would be unstoppable together. The number we could rack up as duo. He told me that he has already racked up 17 and I had racked up 13 – that was 30! It would reach 50 in a matter of months.


Imagine that! 50 of them – murdered! I never thought I would reach those numbers before getting caught – now the unthinkable suddenly has become thinkable.


We killed our first the following night – together. He was downtown and he did not seek to shelter his profession. He was proud of what he was. We both liked prostitutes, they were easy. A manageable first venture.


It was better than I could have envisioned. The fear in his eyes was elevated to a towering degree. I have been hungry for an incline for a number of years now, but this immense acclivity can only be down to the duplex effect of us.


A determinative exhale escapes him. A final frenzied scratch comes our way.


We end him.


---



We are now devouring succulent passionfruit by Miami Beach. Two sunbeds facing the endless blue. The circinate star layering me darker by the hour.


I turn to him and jerk my head to my left – look. He ganders over my sand embezzled shoulder.


A nod is all I need.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page